Select Page

CASE STUDY:

 

 

 

THE CHALLENGE:

 

Belden Inc., a supplier of signal transmission solutions, provides customers with cables, connectors, networking equipment, and software. They design and manufacture connectivity products for the electrical and optical transmission of signals for data, sound, and video applications.

They previously had other 3D printing technologies that met some of their needs, but slow development and validation times impeded their workflow. When they started to evaluate various technologies, they realized that it was difficult to choose a single process that would be able to fulfill all their criteria.

 

THE SOLUTION:

 

Belden Inc. discovered Markforged products through SolidXperts. The appeal of Markforged was in its ease of use and technology that made products much more functional and manageable. The Markforged printer is very durable and requires low maintenance, which allows Belden Inc. to create components with mechanical characteristics that are closer to the resins used in injection molding. Users can make components to present to their customers, as well as pieces they can handle and test for their specific needs. With Markforged, they are capable of producing components that are used as finished products and deliver unique products in small quantities to customers. Markforged is a reliable machine; for two years they have had no problems as its control software makes it easy to operate. Belden Inc. has been able to train multiple users without risk of damaging the equipment. The process requires very little post-processing and their printers are currently installed in their office area, allowing them to be even more efficient. Markforged has responded to 95% of their needs.

 

THE RESULT:

 

  • Reduced development and validation time by 50-70%
  • Significantly reduced delivery times.
  • Saved approximately $40,000 a year during an intensive design period.
  • Every Markforged printer has been profitable in less than 4 months.
  • Reduced validation cycles for design ideas from 4 days to 1 day.
  • Possibility to do 2 to 3 times more iterations, therefore accelerating the product development.

Markforged printers in production. One of the functions of Markforged at Belden is to produce components for small production.

Two manufactured components that will be used to assemble an optical fiber connector.


Design of an optical fiber cable manager. Assembly of 4 components made with the Markforged printer. The parts are mobile.


Cable support, manufactured with the Markforged. Used in Belden’s laboratory.
Visit their website here.

Sélectionner une page

CAS CLIENT:

 

 

 

LE DÉFI:

Belden Inc. est un fournisseur de solutions de transmission de signaux qui offre à ses clients des câbles, des connecteurs, du matériel de réseau et des logiciels. Ils conçoivent et fabriquent des produits de connectivité pour la transmission électrique et optique de signaux, destinés aux applications de données, son et vidéo.

Belden Inc. disposait déjà d’autres types de technologies d’impression 3D qui répondaient à certains de leurs besoins, mais dont la lenteur des processus de développement et de validation entravait leur flux de travail. Lorsqu’ils ont commencé à évaluer diverses technologies, ils ont compris qu’il était difficile de choisir un processus unique capable de répondre à tous leurs critères.

 

LA SOLUTION:

Belden Inc. a découvert les produits Markforged par le biais de SolidXperts. L’attrait de Markforged réside dans sa facilité d’utilisation et sa technologie qui rend les produits beaucoup plus fonctionnels et faciles à gérer. La technologie Markforged est très durable et nécessite peu de maintenance, ce qui permet à Belden Inc. de créer des composants aux caractéristiques mécaniques plus proches des résines utilisées dans le moulage par injection. Les utilisateurs peuvent fabriquer des composants qu’ils peuvent présenter à leurs clients, ainsi que des pièces qu’ils peuvent manipuler et tester pour répondre à leurs besoins spécifiques. Avec Markforged, ils sont capables de produire des composants utilisés comme produits finis et de livrer des produits uniques en petites quantités aux clients. Les Markforged sont des machines fiables : en deux ans, ils n’ont eu aucun problème car le logiciel de contrôle intégré les rend faciles à utiliser. Belden Inc. a pu ainsi former plusieurs utilisateurs sans risquer d’endommager l’équipement. Le processus nécessite très peu de post-traitement et leurs imprimantes sont actuellement installées directement dans leurs bureaux, ce qui leur permet d’être encore plus efficaces. Markforged a répondu à 95% de leurs besoins.

 

LE RÉSULTAT:

– Réduction du temps de développement et de validation de 50 à 70%

– Délais de livraison considérablement réduits.

– Économie d’environ 40 000$ par an en période de conception intensive.

– Chaque imprimante Markforged a été rentable en moins de 4 mois.

– Réduction du cycle de validation des idées de conception de 4 à 1 jour.

– Possibilité de faire 2 à 3 fois plus d’itérations, accélérant ainsi le développement du produit.

Imprimantes Markforged en production. Une des fonctions des Markforged chez Belden est de produire des composantes pour de la petite production.


Fabrication de deux composants qui vont être utilisés pour l’assemblage d’un connecteur de fibre optique.


Conception d’un gestionnaires de câbles de fibre optique. Assemblage de 4 composantes fait avec Markforged. Les pièces sont mobiles.


Fabrication de supports de câble avec la Markforged . Utilisé dans le laboratoire de Belden.
Visitez le site de Belden.