Select Page

CASE STUDY:

 

 

 

THE CHALLENGE:

 

Johnny’s Selected Seeds is a seed company committed to helping families, friends, and communities feed one another by providing superior seeds, tools, information, and services. Recent business growth has allowed them to further branch out into products that give growers a resource for tested tools to complement their cultivation processes. Now, their Tools and Supplies division accounts for about 20% of the company’s total revenue. In order to keep up with this growth and the needs of their customers, Johnny’s Selected Seeds needed the right people and the right software in place.

“My position within the company is brand new so I am developing new products along with new processes – both of which require the support of robust documents and excellent three-dimensional data…” -Bradford Waugh, Mechanical Product Designer at Johnny’s Selected Seeds

 

THE SOLUTION:

 

Johnny’s Selected Seeds needed a software package to develop 3D product data and someone with the knowledge to use it efficiently. SolidXperts suggested SOLIDWORKS Standard as the perfect solution for their growing needs. Johnny’s Selected Seeds now uses SOLIDWORKS to generate 2D drawings. There are two very valuable applications that they use frequently. The first is the institution of a revision cycle process for their products, which was not in place before. The second is the generation of reference drawings (as seen below) for their call center and sales team to properly communicate and diagnose problems.

 

THE RESULT:

 

Johnny’s Selected Seeds has been able to quickly generate ideas and assess multiple manufacturing options before committing time and resources to prototypes. For example, below are some retrofit ideas being explored based on feedback. (existing product followed by proposed updates)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Johnny’s Selected Seeds is constantly trying to develop new products, so quickly working up new ideas and evaluating them digitally has sped up the development process significantly. Thanks to SOLIDWORKS, the application of CAD modeling into their internal processes has exponentially decreased the timeline on product development. Ideas can now take as little as a day to achieve an initial assessment compared to weeks.

 

– Multiple manufacturing options considered before committing time and resources to prototypes

– Digital evaluation has sped up the development process significantly

– Decreased timeline on product development

 

Visit their website here.

Select Page
blank

CAS CLIENT:

 

 

 

LE DÉFI:

 

Johnny’s Selected Seeds est une entreprise de semences qui s’engage à aider les familles, les amis et les communautés à se nourrir en leur fournissant des semences, des outils, des informations et des services de qualité supérieure. La croissance récente de leurs activités leur a permis de se diversifier davantage dans des produits offrant aux producteurs des outils testés pour améliorer leurs processus de culture. Désormais, leur division Outils et Fournitures représente environ 20% du chiffre d’affaires total de la société. Afin de suivre cette croissance et les besoins de leurs clients, Johnny’s Selected Seeds avait besoin des bonnes personnes et du bon logiciel en place.

« Mon poste au sein de la société étant tout nouveau, je développe de nouveaux produits ainsi que de nouveaux processus, qui nécessitent tous deux des documents robustes et d’excellentes données tridimensionnelles … » – Bradford Waugh, concepteur de produits mécaniques chez Johnny’s Selected Seeds

 

LA SOLUTION:

 

Johnny’s Selected Seeds avait besoin d’un logiciel lui permettant de développer des données de produits en 3D et d’une personne possédant les connaissances nécessaires pour l’utiliser efficacement. SolidXperts a suggéré SOLIDWORKS Standard, qui était la solution idéale pour leurs besoins croissants. Johnny’s Selected Seeds utilise maintenant SOLIDWORKS pour générer des dessins 2D. Deux applications très utiles se démarquent pour l’entreprise : la première est la mise en place d’un processus de cycle de révision pour leurs produits, qui n’existait pas auparavant. La seconde est la génération de dessins de référence (comme indiqué ci-dessous) pour que leur centre d’appels et leur équipe de vente communiquent et diagnostiquent correctement les problèmes.

blank

 

LE RÉSULTAT:

 

Johnny’s Selected Seeds a été en mesure de générer rapidement des projets et d’évaluer de multiples options de fabrication avant de consacrer du temps et des ressources à des prototypes. Par exemple, ci-dessous, quelques idées de réajustements en cours d’étude basée sur des commentaires. (En premier, le produit existant puis les modifications apportées à la suite des commentaires reçus)

 

 

 

blank

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

blank

 

 

Johnny’s Selected Seeds essaie constamment de développer de nouveaux produits. Par conséquent, la mise au point rapide de nouvelles idées et leur évaluation numérique ont considérablement accéléré le processus de développement. Grâce à SOLIDWORKS l’application de la modélisation CAO à leurs processus internes a permis de réduire de manière exponentielle le délai de développement des produits. Les idées peuvent maintenant prendre aussi peu qu’une journée pour réaliser une évaluation initiale par rapport à des semaines.

 

– Davantage d’options de fabrication envisagées avant de consacrer du temps et des ressources à des prototypes

– L’évaluation numérique a considérablement accéléré le processus de développement

– Réduction du délai de développement de produits

Visitez leur site web ici.